In the Light of What We Know (Farrar, Straus & Giroux) was published in 2014 to international critical acclaim and won the prestigious James Tait Black Memorial Prize, Britain’s oldest literary prize, previous winners of which include Evelyn Waugh, Graham Greene, Nadine Gordimer, Salman Rushdie and Cormac McCarthy. The novel won, or was shortlisted or longlisted for many other prizes. It was included in numerous end-of-year lists of best books and has been translated into many languages.